BCSA Top 20 Event at the 2018 BCSA National Specialty

Come one, come all! 2018 BCSA top twenty celebration, Friday November 2, 2018 to celebrate all dogs champions or NOT!!!  If they mattered to you they matter today!

 The 2018 BCSA top twenty celebration will be held upstairs in the Founders room at Purina Farms, on Friday November 2. The presentation starts at 6:00pm and festivities start at 4:30pm. 

 This year’s theme was inspired by several things; the change in dates from early September to the end of October as well as our strong love of those dogs who came before us, because without them we would not have a Top 20 today. While many of you may not know about our theme we will help you celebrate! This year’s theme is Dias De Los Muertos or Day of the Dead. 

 It is a common believe in Mexican culture that the dead would be insulted by mourning and sadness, and that they would prefer to be celebrated instead!  Considering the dogs general love for life and for us, we feel this ideology could not be more fitting.  Dias De Los Muertos celebrates life, not death with food, drink, parties, music, and festivities the dead would have enjoyed!  Dias De Los Muertos recognizes that death is a natural part of human/dog experience, a continuum of birth, childhood, and growing up, to becoming a contributing member of the community.  On Dias De Los Muertos, the dead are believed to be awakened from there eternal slumber to share in the celebrations with the ones who loved them. 

 This year’s Top 20 is a place where friends and competitors can gather together for video presentations of the top 20 dogs both past and present, with food, music and a good time. 

 If you want to learn more about Dias De Los Muertos in a fun way watch Disney’s motion picture “COCO”. 

Qualifying Dogs

The following dogs have qualified for the 2018 Members Top 20 Conformation Event in accordance with the AKC Breed Rankings from May 1, 2017 – April 30, 2018, and an owner being a 2017/2018 BCSA member of good standing. A personalized invitation will be sent out to the BCSA member owner/co-owner. All past winners are eligible for competition. All dogs are eligible for the “People’s Choice Award.” Dogs are listed in alphabetical order. 

List of dogs are coming soon.  

Catalog and Entry Information

Catalogs will be available for purchase at the event, at a cost of $10 each. Included with the Catalog will be a one “People’s Choice” ballot paper, which will enable the spectators to choose and vote for their favorite dog.

An owner of each qualifying dog is invited to provide the following information for the’ “Conformation Top 20” catalog. Please email all the information and photos to Heather or Kyle Henisey racinme2000@yahoo.com before the entry closing date TBA, 2018. You may pay for your entry using the online form below. Alternatively, you may pay for your entry by mailing a check, payable to BCSA, for $50 to Adrian Smith, BCSA Treasurer, P.O. Box 940322, Simi Valley, CA 93094.

Dogs Name To Appear On Rosette (only AKC titles will be included)
Call Name
Date of Birth
Short Bio (approx. 200 words)
3-Generation Pedigree
Color Photos (300dpi or greater) One stacked profile photo and one head study photo.
Please note that photos may be cropped.



The Ofrenda is a small personal altar honoring one person or dog, Ofrendas often have flowers, candles, food, drinks, photos, or personal mementos to remember those who have passed over. It is also believed that these items are things they get to take back with them to the other side. The top 20 dogs will receive their ofrenda with pictures of their ancestors.

 This year to help raise money for the event you can purchase an Ofrendas for $15.00. This will include a electric candle, flowers, a picture (emailed to us by you – we will print) and entrance for one person to the event.

 You are encouraged to bring personal items for your ofrenda which can be set up starting at 3pm. Or you can bring them to Kyle and Heather though out the week for us to set up for you. Please make sure your box of items is labeled with your name, phone number (in case we have questions) and the dogs name.

 We will post a sample of an ofrenda soon please check back.

 If no ofrenda is purchased prior to October 15 you are still welcome to come! There will be a $5.00 entry fee to the event at the door.

 Ofrienda Decoration 3pm

Street Tacos 4:30pm


 Although their flesh may have disappeared, their impact on our lives have not <3


QUESTIONS: All Conformation Top 20 inquiries or questions about the event should be addressed to: Heather or Kyle Henisey at racinme2000@yahoo.com